Moon Phase – Review

Being a vampire lover, Moon Phase was one of those anime that I bought just for that reason.  I knew nothing about the anime before I bought it so it was a bit risky.  Luckily, it was worth the buy.

Moon Phase is about a girl, Hazuki, who is a descendant of a royal vampire family.  The anime begins with the boy, Kouhei Morioka, who is a photographer.  He works for an occult magazine because every picture he takes has paranormal phenomenon in it; he doesn’t mean for it to happen.  He goes to an old castle and takes photos where he meets Hazuki who is being held captive.  Hazuki attempts to form a blood pact with Kouhei to make him her slave, but it fails; it has no effect on Kouhei, but Kouhei and his cousin end up freeing Hazuki from the castle.

Hazuki insists that Kouhei is her slave because of the blood pact, but, of course, Kouhei refuses to obey her, which leads to some interesting and funny arguments.  The anime is really about their relationship.  No matter how much they fight, Kouhei feels the need to protect Hazuki from those who try to retrieve her.

Hazuki is an interesting character because she has a duo personality.  Mistress Luna and Hazuki are two completely opposite people living in the same body.  Hazuki is energetic, annoying, loud, and sweet when she wants to be, but Luna is every bit a stereotypical vampire aristocrat as there can be.  Kouhei is an Ama Lamia, Vampire Lover, which means that no vampire can make him their slave and whenever a vampire feeds on his blood, their servitude ties with their masters are broken.  He’s really a normal boy otherwise.  The other characters are interesting in their own ways.

I found that, throughout this anime, I got tired of the story.  I think they were just trying a little hard to do two things at once, the relationship between Hazuki and Kouhei overshadowed the vampire drama a little.  Some good things, though, are the fact that the anime really starts off well and gets you interested almost immediately.  Another thing is that, even though I grew tired of the story, I was already so far into it that it would’ve been a bigger burden to not finish it.

There are 25 episodes, 16 volumes of the manga, and the music is really fun.  The openings are “Neko Mimi Mode” and “Tsuku Yomi Mode” by Dimitri from Paris.  The endings are “Kanashii Yokan” by Marianne Amplifier, “Nami no Toriko ni naru you ni” by Noriko Ogawa, “Pressentiment triste” by Marianne Amplifier, and episode 25’s ending is “Neko Mimi Mode.”

I really do recommend this anime to anyone interested in vampires, supernatural, romance, comedy, or just cute neko ears.

Story: 8

Characters: 8

Artwork: 9

Voices: 9

Music: 9

Overall: 9 out of 10

^_^ Sayonara!

About eveamlizya

I am a 22 year-old who loves anime, manga, and Japanese music. I love tons of other things, but the basis of my blog are these things. I love different types of anime and manga so I'll blog about ones I've watched/read and give my opinions. Don't like it? Don't read it.

Posted on July 7, 2011, in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I thing this anime is good because it told me about relationship between friends. I also like this anime because it is scary.

Leave a Reply

